Shri. K. Muraleedharan, renowned leader and son of veteran leader Shri. K. Karunakaran and Smt. Kalyani Kutty Amma, was born on May 14, 1957.

A graduate with LLB, he has been a leading figure of Congress in Kerala and has served as the President of KPCC during 2001-2004. Shri. Muraleedharan was also a Member of the Lok Sabha thrice, in the 9th, 10th and 13th Lok Sabha during 1989-91, 1991-96 and 1999-2004 respectively.

Shri. Muraleedharan was sworn in as the Minister for Electricity on February 11, 2004 in the Ministry headed by Shri. A.K. Antony and held the portfolio till his resignation on May 14, 2004. While a Member of the Lok Sabha, he had served as Member of the Consultative Committees on Food and Civil Supplies, Civil Aviation and Tourism and also Energy. Earlier, he had been the Chairman of State unit of Seva Dal, Congress.

Besides the President of All India National Life Insurance Employees Federation, he had also served as Chairman of several organisations like Kerala Water Authority Employees Association, Kerala Khadi Workers Federation etc. He has also served as a member of Spices Board. Shri. Muraleedharan is the founder President of Democratic Indira Congress (K).

His party then merged with Indian National Congress and now he is a member of INC.

Smt. A.P. Jyothi is his wife and they have two sons.






Keralites have proved their deligence and extra ordinary brillience through out the world. Keralites are well known for their honesty and efficiency in all fields. In the list of Prominent Personalities we have tried to include all famous personalities from Kerala. We are trying to collect the details of the rest. If you have the details of any such personalities, please send to us.

Edesign Technologies, the Ultimate destination for Web Designing